Lahore High Court
The Lahore High Court has opened recruitment for Additional District & Sessions Judges in BS-20, giving experienced advocates in Punjab a route onto the bench. The drive is run by the court’s Central Examination Secretariat under Advertisement No. 01/2026/AD&SJ/CES, published on 1 November 2026.
Last date to apply: 16 November 2026. Both the online form and the hard-copy documents must be completed by this date.
Quick Facts — Lahore High Court ADSJ Jobs 2026
| Organisation | Lahore High Court, Lahore |
| Recruiting office | Central Examination Secretariat |
| Post | Additional District & Sessions Judge (BS-20) |
| Advertisement | No. 01/2026/AD&SJ/CES, dated 1 November 2026 |
| Total posts | Not disclosed in the advertisement |
| Location | Lahore, Punjab |
| Examination fee | Rs. 6,000 (non-refundable) |
| How to apply | Online form plus hard-copy submission by courier |
| Last date | 16 November 2026 |
Important Dates
| Advertisement published | 1 November 2026 |
| Last date for online and hard-copy applications | 16 November 2026 |
| Age calculated on | 16 November 2026 (the closing date) |
| Written examination | Date to be announced by the court |
Who Can Apply — Eligibility Criteria
This is a senior judicial appointment, so the bar is set high. Only advocates who already practise before the High Court and the courts below it are eligible, and the experience requirement is measured from Bar membership, not from the date of the law degree.
- Education: A law degree from a recognised university that entitles the holder to practise law. The advertisement also recognises the specified alternative route involving eligibility for membership of the Faculty of Advocates of Scotland.
- Legal practice: At least seven years of qualifying legal practice as an advocate of the High Court and subordinate courts, counted from the date of registration as a member of a Bar Association, under the Punjab Legal Practitioners and Bar Councils Rules and the Punjab Judicial Service Rules.
- Age limit: 35 to 45 years on 16 November 2026.
- Quotas: 3% reserved for differently abled persons and 5% for minority candidates, under the applicable Punjab rules and notifications. Quota claimants must meet the documentary requirements for their category.
- Nature of appointment: Initially temporary, with the possibility of becoming permanent under the Punjab Judicial Service Rules.
Selection Process — Written Papers, Assessment and Interview
Selection runs in stages, and every stage has its own pass mark. Candidates who clear one stage move to the next; clearing the written papers alone does not secure appointment.
- Written examination: Papers in law and other prescribed subjects, following the syllabus issued by the Lahore High Court. Candidates need at least 40% marks in each paper and 45% in aggregate.
- Psychological and aptitude assessment: Worth 300 marks, with a minimum of 150 marks (50%) required to pass.
- Interview: Mandatory for candidates who reach this stage.
Documents Checklist
- Printed copy of the completed online application form
- Original examination fee deposit slip (MCB Bank, account title “Human Resource – Judiciary”)
- Law degree and Bar membership documents showing the date of registration
- Evidence of seven years of qualifying legal practice
- CNIC and other supporting documents specified in the official instructions
- Quota documents, if claiming a reserved seat
How to Apply
- Open the Lahore High Court jobs portal (lhc.gov.pk/jobs) and find Advertisement No. 01/2026/AD&SJ/CES.
- Read the advertisement, the prescribed form, the syllabus and the instructions in full before filling anything in.
- Complete the online application with accurate personal, educational and professional details.
- Deposit the Rs. 6,000 non-refundable fee through the designated MCB Bank procedure only — the notice does not accept mobile banking or other online payment methods for this fee.
- Send the printed form, the original fee slip and the supporting documents by courier to the Registrar, Lahore High Court, Lahore, attention: Central Examination Secretariat, so they arrive by 16 November 2026.
Why This Opening Matters
Additional District & Sessions Judge is one of the most senior posts a practising advocate can enter directly, and BS-20 carries the pay, status and responsibility that go with district judiciary leadership. Because the advertisement does not state a vacancy count, applicants should not guess at their chances from seat numbers; the real test is the written papers and the assessment that follow. The short window — just over two weeks from publication to closing — means interested advocates should start the fee deposit and the hard-copy packet at once, since courier delivery is part of the deadline, not an afterthought.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many ADSJ posts has the Lahore High Court announced?
The advertisement does not disclose a total number of posts, so no figure is claimed here. The recruitment covers the single designation of Additional District & Sessions Judge (BS-20).
What experience counts towards the seven years?
Qualifying legal practice as an advocate, counted from the date of registration as a member of a Bar Association under the applicable rules — not simply from the date of the law degree.
What are the written examination pass marks?
At least 40% in each paper and 45% in aggregate, followed by a psychological and aptitude assessment of 300 marks with a 150-mark pass mark, and then a mandatory interview.
Can I apply entirely online?
No. The process needs both the online form and a hard-copy packet sent by courier to the Registrar, Lahore High Court, attention: Central Examination Secretariat.
How is the Rs. 6,000 fee paid?
Through the designated MCB Bank procedure under the account title “Human Resource – Judiciary”. The notice does not accept fee payment through mobile banking or other online channels.
What is the last date?
16 November 2026 for both the online submission and the arrival of the hard-copy documents.
Fraud warning: Never pay anyone for a job. Genuine government recruitment never asks for money outside the officially published fee, paid only through the channel named in the advertisement. Anyone demanding extra payment for selection, a roll number slip or an appointment letter is running a scam — report them and apply only through the Lahore High Court’s own portal.
To apply for this job please visit lhc.gov.pk.